Shop for Los Angeles Chargers gear at

Former Chargers GM Bobby Beathard Elected to Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2018

Former Chargers General Manager Bobby Beathard was bestowed with the NFL’s highest honor on Saturday, as he was elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame via the contributor category.

Beathard earned his spot in the Hall of Fame via the contributor category after spending nearly four decades in the NFL, including 22 years as an NFL general manager. Beathard was the Redskins GM for 11 years, winning a pair of Super Bowls and making the playoffs five different times. He then spent 11 more years with the San Diego Chargers, making a single Super Bowl (1994) but failing to secure a title. Beathard was also a scout for the Chiefs and the Falcons and a personnel man for the Dolphins when they won a pair of Super Bowls, giving him four rings total in his career.

Beathard’s career started with the Redskins, where he spent 11 seasons as GM from 1978-88. He made the move to San Diego, and in 10 years heading the front office, Beathard drafted, evaluated and traded his way into talent that would ultimately lift the franchise to its first Super Bowl appearance in the 1994 season losing to the 49’ers and Steve Young.

β€œA few years into our ownership, I remember my dad talking with NFL Commissioner Pete Rozelle,” said Controlling Owner and Chairman of the Board Dean Spanos. β€œHe told Pete that he was struggling with how to get us over the hump, how to make the team better. He asked him what he should do. Pete said that you have to go out and hire the best GM that you can, and he needs to be your guy. My dad asked him for a couple examples. Pete gave a few, but the name that stuck with my dad was Bobby Beathard. We ended up hiring a GM in 1987 but just a couple years later, Bobby left the Redskins. When he became available, we had to hire him. And we did. Bobby came to work for us in 1990, and he changed the entire organization.”

Joining Beathard in the class of 2018 are Randy Moss, Brian Urlacher Terrell Owens, Brian Dawkins, and Ray Lewis, plus senior selections Robert Brazile and Jerry Kramer.

The ceremony for Beathard and the class of 2018 will take place on Saturday, August 4th in Canton, Ohio.

Enjoyed this post?
Subscribe to Chargers Gab via RSS Feed or E-mail and receive daily news updates from us!

Submit to Digg  Stumble This Story  Share on Twitter  Post on Facebook  Post on MySpace  Add to  Bark It Up  Submit to Reddit  Fave on Technorati

Leave a Reply